Getting into the Holiday Groove

A belated welcome to November!

In my inbox are about a dozen e-mails from folks that have been promising me that if I follow their plan, I will have Christmas prep finished weeks ahead of time. Isn’t that great? Oodles of time to spend with my nearest and dearest, doing… Wait, what are we supposed to do if we’re not running around like crazy people during the holiday season? And where does Thanksgiving fit into the scheme of things?

My crazy idea: In the midst of planning for Christmas (which is one day), I can also plan fun things through out the prep stages. I know, it’s not a novel idea, and many of you may already do this. In my happy home, though, our family’s big holiday entertainment is to watch Mom lose her mind during the season. To be fair, it’s a family tradition that was handed down from my mom. I think it’s time for new traditions around here.

To kick it off, I’m starting with a weekly family movie night. Our two year old isn’t into movies, but happily has an early bedtime. My teenagers (an 18 yo and a 19 yo) shouldn’t be too hard to sway. Food bribes still work with them.

My November movie list has a Thanksgiving theme:

My selections are definitely geared towards adults, with the exception of Snoopy.  The joys of having adult children! Now all I have to do is hide their car keys on movie night…

Do you have a favorite Thanksgiving movie?

3 Comments »

  1. Bobbi said

    I’m loving your ideas! Can’t wait to see what’s next! 🙂

  2. Wow , it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m happy with my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that will probably involve a car trip and seeing something new in Pottstown I haven’t seen yet.
    You write new post at Thanksgiving?

  3. demurr said

    @Bobbi, Thanks so much!
    @Breedon, I hope you had a great trip! As you can see, my poor little blog was neglected over Thanksgiving. Glad you stopped by!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

