Friday Fun: Time For Yourself

It’s Friday! Time to play!

Ugh! It’s been a week. My toddler was ill, my teens had issues, my husband was stressing over minor things, my mom had health issues…It was enough to yell, “Stop the world! I wanna get off!”

Some down time for myself is definitely due. The sad part about getting really, really frazzled is it’s hard to think of things to do to pamper yourself.  My last attempt at time for myself didn’t work out so well. I didn’t have a plan,  felt rushed, and wound up getting a speeding ticket. Yep, not the nerve soothing solution I was looking for at all. I decided after that little fiasco to make a list of things to do the next time I had some down time. Here’s what I’m planning for my up coming evening that I have to myself:

  • I’m making one of my favorite meals. It’s either going to be a Wolfgang Puck knock off pizza, or Savory Vegetable Blondies. Neither one has meat in it, so when I fix them for the carnivores I live with I often hear, “Where’s the beef?!” Not on my night!
  • I’m putting on a disc of a TV show I’ve wanted to see, but don’t have the channel. It’s based on a series of books I’ve read and enjoyed, so I’m pretty excited to see it on the screen.
  • There will be a manicure, pedicure, and facial involved. Ah, visual reminders of time alone!
  • To finish off my evening, I will be sipping on a glass of wine while listening to some classical guitar music. Sheer bliss!

It may not sound like much, but it’s enough to carry me through any frantic days I have coming up. Until then, I’m going to wear my socks that have lip prints on them, and pretend my feet have been kissed for all I do!

How about you? If you could spend an evening at home by yourself, what would you do?

Leave a Reply

