Diapers and Hair Dye

It occurred to me this morning that I’ve never had a post about either diapers or hair dye.

About the hair dye. I had a “brilliant” idea to match my hair color to the two-inch roots (slight exaggeration) I was sporting.  After careful deliberation in the dye aisle, I finally picked a pretty color, went home, and squirted it all over my head. As I was waiting to rinse, I congratulated myself for such a great, low maintenance idea. I rinsed it out, blow dried my hair, and…

Oh, my. It was black. Jet black. Raven black. Combined with my pale skin, I looked like I needed a blood transfusion. Oh. My.

But wait! It gets better! My darling husband (who told me I looked fabulous, by the way) and I went to a party. My friends gathered around me to comment on my new look.

“You look tired.” “Are you feeling all right?” “Here, take this seat.” “Is everything ok?”

I was forced to explain it wasn’t insomnia, illness or stress that caused my new look. They clucked sympathetically, and shared a few of their own hair faux pas.  I also shared my worry of straightening my hair while sporting my new color, for fear of looking like Professor Snape. Their consensus? It might be ok if I cut back on the pomade.

I love my friends.

If you’re feeling brave, check back on Monday for a post about the other half of this blog title!

For some great giggles, head on over to Earnest Parenting . You won’t be disappointed!

4 Comments »

  1. AmyL said

    Bwahahahahahaaaa! Can’t wait to hear the rest of the story on Monday! Thanks for playing along on FFYF!

  2. demurr said

    Thanks for hosting it, Amy! Your stories had me giggling for hours. 🙂

  3. Mom said

    Had a great laugh with this one. Love you.

    • demurr said

      Thanks, Mom!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

