WFMW: Menu Planning, backwards and forwards

Don’t you love staring into the fridge at 5pm with no clue what to make for dinner? Yeah, me neither. 

About 4 times a year I list what we have for dinner each night for a month. It gives me almost 30 dinners appropriate for the season to choose from when I plan our menu for the week. And writing it on the calendar insures I know where to find my list.

I discovered early on that my husband and I are not “we’re having this dinner on that day” kind of people. Instead, we list the dinners we have ingredients for, and hang it on a cupboard.  We choose from the list the night before, grab any thing that needs to be thawed out of the freezer, and we’re good to go.

That’s how we do our menu planning over here, backwards and forwards! Check out what’s working for other’s at We are THAT Family.

Leave a Reply

