Toddler Crafts:Making a Snowman…in the house!

My two-year old is a glue stick addict. She loves pasting things together. One day she may need a twelve step program to over come it, but for now we’re indulging her habit.

The other day we made a snowman. In the house. Of course, it was out of construction paper, but she was pretty happy. During her nap, I cut circles out of white construction paper. I also cut out a hat, a carrot shaped nose, smaller circles out of black construction paper for eyes and buttons, boot shapes for his feet, a smiling mouth, and a couple of stick arms. When my darling daughter got up from her nap, I gave her the cut outs, put a figurine of a snowman in front of her to use as a guide, and handed her a glue stick. The hardest part of the project was staying out of her way.  (I was identifying with Picasso’s mother in a big way.) She was really proud of her results, and so was I!

She’ll be making another snowman soon from a recipe for toddler play dough that I found here. Hopefully we’ll be able to take her new snowman building skills outside soon. I’m sure Mother Nature will be cooperating any minute!

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said

    Save the snowman so Tom and I can see it. Love you

    • demurr said

      You got it, Mom!
      @ John, I’ve added it to my todo list. Cool project, btw!

  2. John said

    If you took a photo, please send it to me at http://snowmanproject.wordpress.com

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

