Friday Fun: Movie Time!

Yikes! I can’t believe it’s almost the end of January, and I haven’t  mentioned movies. I’ve found myself drawn towards “follow your dreams” and “living the life you want” movies this month, and thought I’d share my top picks with you.

Let’s start with Last Holiday starring Queen Latifah and LL Cool J.  One of the things I loved about this movie is Queen Latifah’s character knew what she wanted in her life, and kept a Dream Book to list them. The only thing that held her back was her lack of self-confidence. It wasn’t until she thought she had nothing to lose that she actually started to follow her dreams.

And then there’s UP. Yep, it’s an animated kids movie that has a house moving through the air via bunches of balloons, and a talking dog. What I wasn’t expecting was our unlikely hero’s realization that his “uneventful” life had been filled with adventures all along.  

I love Secondhand Lions with Robert Duvall and Michael Caine. I love the idea that life’s adventures don’t end just because you’ve reached a certain age. And I love that the characters did is as their own quirky selves, without apology or conformity to others’ expectations.

My last pick is along the “reinventing one’s self” theme. Now, Voyager, starring Bette Davis.  A woman who was bullied and put down her entire life changes her self-image. She wasn’t rescued by someone else. Little by little, she rescued herself.

Those are my January movie picks. I hope you enjoy them!

2 Comments »

  1. Angie said

    O.k., I LOVE Secondhand Lions. LOVE LOVE LOVE that movie. *sigh* Off to add it to the Flix que. Thanks for the reminder! You rock.

    • demurr said

      You make the popcorn, I’ll bring the movie!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

