WFMW: Adding a morning workout to your day

I am not a morning person. I’ve witnessed me in the morning, and it’s not pretty. The mental fog, the general crankiness… well, you get the picture.

Over the years, I’ve learned to do as much as possible the night before to make my mornings “brain free”. Picking out an outfit for the day. Setting up the coffee pot. Making sure to set out items for the baby’s morning diaper change. You get the idea.

This month I have struggled with adding a morning work out to my routine. I was getting pretty frustrated about it. I found a workout that I actually like, so I thought the hard part was done already. Not so much. Getting myself to do it in the morning is the hard part. It finally hit me that I wasn’t setting myself up to do it in the morning. Who wants to do a workout (even if it’s just 20 minutes) after spending a half an hour tracking down shoes, sweats, weights, and the like?

Now in the evening I load the work out disc in the  dvd player. I have a tote that I use to hold my workout gear (sweats, weights, socks, shoes).  I also fill up a water bottle in the evening, so I’m not tempted to grab a cup of coffee and just think about working out.

So far so good! Setting myself up seems to Work For Me. Check out what’s working for others today at We Are THAT Family on this Works For Me Wednesday.

5 Comments »

  1. Bobbi said

    Brilliant idea! I may have to steal it from you 🙂

    • demurr said

      Feel free, Bobbi!

      Thank you for stopping by, Melissa!

  2. Melissa said

    I do better if I’ve “set up” for my morning also. Thanks for the reminder!!!

  3. Melissa said

    I have been thinking about doing this, since I can’t fit the workout into my day anywhere else…thanks for the ideas! If I could stop hitting the snooze button it might help…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

