WFMW: Weight Loss Reward

When I’ve gone on diets and exercise programs in the past, it was for vanity reasons. You know, to look cute in a bathing suit on vacation, or fit into a fabulous dress for my husband’s work parties.

After I gave birth to my youngest, I found myself weighing more than I could have ever imagined I could. Bedrest and KFC Popcorn Chicken will do that to a girl. I found myself having to lose weight not just for my vanity, but for my health. How large was I? When I lost the first 10 pounds, no one noticed. Same with the second 10 pounds. Talk about depressing! And waving around doctor’s reports of my lower blood pressure and cholesterol just didn’t cut it for me. It’s hard to stay motivated under those circumstances.

And then I hit upon my “reward program”. I admit, rewarding yourself when losing weight isn’t anything new. What I did was buy myself rewards for my hands/wrists. After I lost thirty pounds (that was barely noticable to others), I bought myself a beautiful bracelet. My initial reasoning was it was something that I didn’t need (like new jeans), so it felt more special. Then I discovered an added benefit: whenever I reached for a snack or junk food, I saw the bracelet. It reminded me of what I had accomplished, and made me think twice about mindlessly munching on chips.

Since then, I’ve added another bracelet reward, and then had my wedding ring sized. Visible weight loss rewards on my hands and wrists are working for me! To see what’s working for others today, hop on over to We Are THAT Family.

4 Comments »

  1. Sandwiched said

    Great idea…I’m always looking for new rewards. I’ve already accumulated a lot of fitness gear by rewarding myself, so I need to move in a different direction.

  2. demurr said

    Thanks for the reminder–I have got to get new work out soes before I hurt myself or others. I’m glad you stopped by!

  3. Melissa said

    Now. Hmm. I think I could run with this!!! I have 100 pounds to lose. I need incentives. I love incentives. Maybe I should ask my husband to give me some!

    • demurr said

      Melissa, I Love the idea of having someone else pick out the incentives! I also love having Coffee With you. I swear, the most awesome people stop by here!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

